Nominations open for the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2014

Nominations for the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize for 2014 are now open.

The prize honours outstanding contributions by individuals or organisations towards solving the world's water challenges by applying innovative technologies or implementing policies and programmes which benefit humanity.

Last year's recipient, Professor Mark van Loosdrecht was honoured for his invention that provides a cost-effective, robust and sustainable way to remove unwanted pollutants from used water.

Nominations close on May 13 this year, and the Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2014 laureate will receive $300,000, a certificate, and a gold medallion at an award ceremony to be held during the Singapore International Water Week 2014.

Join ST's WhatsApp Channel and get the latest news and must-reads.