New board appointments at several government agencies from April 1

SINGAPORE - From Wednesday, there will be new appointments at the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) Board, the Agri-Food and Veterinary Authority (AVA) Board, the Workplace Safety and Health (WSH) Council and the Intellectual Property Office of Singapore (IPOS) Board.

These four agencies announced these changes in statements on Tuesday.

At URA, four new members have been appointed for a three-year term:

i. Mr Khew Sin Khoon, President & Chief Executive Officer, CPG Corporation Pte Ltd

ii. Mr Chew Men Leong, Chief Executive, Land Transport Authority

iii. Prof Brenda Yeoh Saw Ai, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, National University of Singapore

iv. Dr Cheong Wei Yang, Director, Planning, Ministry of Education

The board's chairman Peter Ho and eight other members will be re-appointed, while three members are stepping down after their terms end:

i. Mr Chan Sui Him, Chairman, DP Architects Pte Ltd

ii. Mr Anthony Kang Chiang Meng, Chairman, Indiglo Venture Pte Ltd

iii. Mr Lionel Yeo Hung Tong, Chief Executive, Singapore Tourism Board

The Ministry of National Development and URA in a joint statement thanked outgoing board members "for their invaluable service, guidance and contributions during their tenure".

The AVA will have a new deputy chairman - Mr Lim Neo Chian, former director of Economic Development Innovations Singapore - and five other new board members who have been appointed for a three-year term:

i. COL (Dr) Tang Kong Choong, Chief Naval Medical Officer, Singapore Armed Forces

ii. Ms Chua Mui Hoong, Opinion Editor, The Straits Times, Singapore Press Holdings Limited

iii. Professor David Chan, Director, Behavioural Sciences Institute, Singapore Management University

iv. Mr Lau Teck Sien, Partner and Chief Investment Officer, HOPU Investments Co. Limited

v. Ms Harasha binte Khalid Bafana, Director, Adam & Hawa Network

The board's chairman Koh Soo Keong will be re-appointed for a further one-year term, while seven other members have been re-appointed for three-year terms.

The following five board members are stepping down, and were also thanked by MND and AVA for their service.

They are:

i. Professor Zhou Weibiao, Professor and Director, Food Science & Technology Programme, Department of Chemistry, National University of Singapore

ii. Dr Azlinda Anwar, Assistant Director (Research & Enterprise Development), Temasek Life Sciences Laboratory Limited

iii. RADM (Dr) Kang Wee Lee, Chief of Medical Corps, Singapore Armed Forces

iv. Mr Teo Eng Cheong, Chief Executive Officer, International Enterprise (IE) Singapore

v. Mr Felix Soh, Digital Media Editor, Singapore Press Holdings

The WSH Council will have two new members appointed for a two-year term by Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin.

Mr Tan Puay Hin, regional chief executive for Southeast Asia at PSA International, takes over from the late Mr Quek Keng Liang as chairman of the council's Logistics and Transport Committee.

Mr Zee Yoong Kang, the Health Promotion Board's chief executive, will serve as deputy chairman of the Workplace Health Committee. The committee looks at integrating personal health into WSH management.

The council's chairman, Mr Lee Tzu Yang, and two members will be re-appointed for a three-year term, while two members will be re-appointed for a two-year term.

Mr Lee paid tribute to Mr Quek, who died in July last year and had chaired the Logistics and Transport Committee for six years. "Keng Liang was dedicated to improving the lives of workers, and was tenacious and committed in pushing for high WSH standards in the logistics and transport sector," Mr Lee said in a statement.

He also welcomed Mr Tan and Mr Zee to their new positions.

"I hope that we can leverage the expertise of new and re-appointed members to drive efforts towards better WSH outcomes and take Singapore's WSH performance to the next level," he said.

At IPOS, the Ministry of Law has appointed six new board members:

i. Professor Tsui Kai Chong, Provost, SIM University

ii. Dr Lim Kuo-Yi, Managing Director, Monk¡¦s Hill Ventures

iii. Mr Tan Min-Liang, CEO, Razer Inc.

iv. Mr Douglas Foo, Executive Chairman, Sakae Holdings Ltd

v. Ms Audrey Yap, Managing Partner, Yusarn Audrey

vi. Mr Sim Feng-Ji, Director, Resource Division, Ministry of Trade & Industry

Six board members have been re-appointed, while four are stepping down after completing their terms. The outgoing members are:

i. Ms Jacqueline Poh, Managing Director, Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore

ii. Professor Freddy Boey, Deputy President and Provost, Nanyang Technological University

iii. Mr Guy Proulx, Chairman and CEO, Transpacific IP Management Group Pte Ltd

iv. Mr Kevin Theseira, International IP Counsel, Keysight Technologies Singapore (Holdings) Pte Ltd

The Ministry and IPOS thanked them for their service and contributions.

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.