Accounting Standards Council reappoints leaders for another term

The chairman and deputy chairman of Singapore's Accounting Standards Council have been reappointed for another term, the Finance Ministry said on Tuesday.

Mr Michael Lim Choo San and Mr Nagaraj Sivaram will retain their positions as chairman and deputy chairman respectively until Oct 31, 2015.

Five other members have also been reappointed to the Council. They are: DBS Group chief financial officer Chng Sok Hui, WongPartnership partner and head of tax practice Tan Kay Kheng, Commissioner of Charities Low Puk Yeong, Home Affairs Ministry senior director of policy and operations Ng Yeow Boon, and Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority chief executive Kenneth Yap.

In addition, six new members have joined the Council. Three are from accounting firms: Mr Chua Kim Chiu, a partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers Services; Mr Cheung Pui Yuen, regional managing partner of assurance and advisory services for South-east Asia at Deloitte & Touche; and Mr Yeo Ek Khuan, a partner at BDO Singapore.

Another two hail from Singapore's regulators: Mr Kevin Kwok, a director at the Singapore Exchange, and Mr Lee Chuan Teck, assistant managing director of the capital markets group at the Monetary Authority of Singapore.

The last new member is Mr Choo Teck Min, an associate professor of accounting at the Nanyang Technological University.

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.