Fit And Fab

'Running' around for work

Briton Chris Cable tells Joan Chew about riding straight into the jungle from his doorstep.

Mr Cable, who works in the sports and events sector, says that his big passion outside of work in recent years has been mountain biking.
Mr Cable, who works in the sports and events sector, says that his big passion outside of work in recent years has been mountain biking.PHOTO: CHRIS CABLE

Q. How has your exercise regimen changed over the years?

A. I have moved from playing competitive sports - such as badminton, basketball, squash, athletics and football - to engaging in "lifestyle" sports.

I love being outdoors, so this has influenced what sports I take part in, such as mountain biking, skiing and mountain climbing.

I like to be fit and healthy so I can enjoy these activities, as opposed to training in order to win competitions.

Q. Has there ever been a time when you were not fit and fab?

  • Bio Box


    AGE: 34

    WEIGHT: 83kg

    HEIGHT: 1.88m

    Mr Cable, who is British, has been based in Kuala Lumpur for the past four years. About once a fortnight, he travels to Singapore for work.

    He is senior vice-president of Exceed Sports & Entertainment, the organiser of The Music Run. The event puts music at the very heart of the run-and-party experience, with speakers pumping out chartbusters all along the route.

    Mr Cable has attended every one of the 5km fun runs in Asia - 12 to be exact - since the event began in 2014.

    This year, The Music Run is set to hit 40 cities in 18 countries - the strongest showing yet. It was held in four countries in 2014 and eight last year.

    Mr Cable took part in the first run in Kuala Lumpur in 2014, and was at subsequent runs in various parts of Asia as part of his job, overseeing the race operations and "checking out the crowd", he said.

    He will be "running around" as well at the second edition of The Music Run by AIA at Sentosa on Saturday. He will also be at other runs in the region.

    Mr Cable is engaged to a 30-year-old teacher, who lives with him in Kuala Lumpur.

    Joan Chew

A. I've always been relatively fit and healthy.


  • •Monday: 45min gym (morning),1 hr tennis (evening)

    • Tuesday: 45min gym, consisting of aerobics, stretching and lifting of light weights

    • Wednesday: 1hr pre-work mountain bike ride

    • Thursday: 45min gym

    • Friday: Rest day

    • Saturday: 2-3hr mountain bike ride

    • Sunday: 2-3hr mountain bike ride

    Source: CHRIS CABLE

I've had a few injuries over the years - skiing crashes which led to a broken hand and ribs, as well as a back injury from playing badminton - which definitely led to more time in the pub!

But safe to say, I was hardly ever not fit and fab.

Q. What is your typical diet like?

A. I do not count my calories, but I do like to eat as healthily as possible.

A typical breakfast would be a bowl of muesli, some fruits and a cup of coffee.

There is a great salad bar near my office, so I like to have lunch there or grab a simple sandwich.

My fiancee has been trying her hand at vegetarian cooking over the past few months and while I still like the odd steak, there are always some delicious vegetarian options for dinner. Her five-bean chilli is just superb and easily my favourite dish.

Q. What are your indulgences?

A. A tub of Ben & Jerry's ice cream every now and then.

Q. What do you do to relax? How do you maintain a healthy work-life balance?

A. I'm very fortunate to be working in the sports and events industry, so I'm often on my feet running around, as I will be doing when setting up and coordinating The Music Run this Saturday.

However, outside of work, my big passion in recent years has been mountain biking.

I live next to Bukit Kiara in Kuala Lumpur, so I can ride straight into the jungle from my doorstep. It's a great way to clear the mind after a long week.

Q. What are your favourite and least favourite parts of your body?

A. Both my favourite and least favourite part are my feet.

I'm a UK12 size. I've got quite large feet that are great for running, provide me with stability and act as my swimming paddles.

However, getting shoes in Asia is a nightmare.

Q. Would you go for plastic surgery?

A. I'm happy with the way I look.

Q. Do you think you are sexy?

A. Haha, this sounds like a line from Austin Powers.

Q. What is the most extreme thing you have done in the name of fitness?

A. I love to combine sports and travel. One thing I try to do every year is to make a trip to the mountains, and I've been lucky enough to go on ski trips to Kashmir and Japan over the last couple of years.

Q. How extensive is your collection of sports-related paraphernalia at home?

A. I have five bikes and I've hardly kept track of their prices after the second one, although I remember one was a gift from a close friend. My favourite would be my new Banshee mountain bike, which can handle climbs and descents really well.

I try to do some basic cleaning and lubricating of the bikes at least once in two days and send them for checking once every two months.

As for a major overhaul, such as checking of parts and repair works, I tend to do them once a year.

I also have two pairs of skis, three golf clubs and about four diving kits.

A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Straits Times on April 19, 2016, with the headline ''Running' around for work'. Print Edition | Subscribe