S'pore updates Covid-19 border measures, stricter pre-departure testing for countries including Australia, NZ

The new requirement takes effect on 11.59pm on Sept 9. ST PHOTO: KUA CHEE SIONG

SINGAPORE - From Thursday (Sept 9), all travellers into Singapore from Category II, III and IV countries will need to produce a negative pre-departure Covid-19 polymerase chain reaction test result taken within 48 hours before leaving for Singapore, said the Ministry of Health (MOH) in a statement on Sunday.

Previously, the requirement had been for the test to be taken within 72 hours before travel, and applied to those coming from Category III and IV countries.

The new requirement takes effect at 11.59pm on Thursday, along with other changes to border measures for travellers from a number of countries and regions.

Singapore's differentiated border measures for different countries were introduced on Aug 19.

According to MOH, Category I comprises places with the lowest risk of Covid-19 transmission, Category II countries are those with similar Covid-19 risk profiles to Singapore, Category III are deemed to be at higher risk of Covid-19 infections, and Category IV are the remaining places with the highest risk of Covid-19 infection.

MOH has placed several countries in new categories.

South Korea, previously in Category III, has been added to Category II. Other countries in Category II include Australia, New Zealand and Germany.

From Thursday, travellers from South Korea will need to take a pre-departure test, be tested on arrival, serve a seven-day stay home notice (SHN) at their place of residence and do a Covid-19 PCR test at the end of their SHN.

Croatia, Egypt, Finland, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Saudi Arabia and Sweden, previously in Category IV, are now in Category III.

Travellers from Category III countries who are fully vaccinated may apply to opt out of serving their 14-day SHN at dedicated facilities, and do so at their place of residence instead, as long as they were in their countries for 21 days prior to their travel to Singapore, and isolating alone or with members from the same household.

Travellers who are unvaccinated or do not fulfil any of the above conditions will have to isolate in dedicated SHN facilities.

"As the global situation evolves, we will continue to adjust our border measures in tandem with our roadmap to becoming a Covid resilient nation," said an MOH spokesman.

Members of the public can go to the SafeTravel website to keep up with the latest changes in border measures.


Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.