Blackout disrupts Amsterdam's Schiphol airport

Amsterdam's Schiphol Airport (pictured) was hit by a blackout on April 29, 2018, causing the airport to close.
Amsterdam's Schiphol Airport (pictured) was hit by a blackout on April 29, 2018, causing the airport to close.PHOTO: REUTERS

AMSTERDAM (REUTERS) - Amsterdam's Schiphol airport was temporarily closed early on Sunday (April 29) as a large blackout hit all operations at one of Europe's busiest airports.

Authorities closed off roads to Schiphol and stopped train traffic to the airport around 0300 GMT (11am Singapore time) to "ensure the safety of travellers", the airport said, as check-in procedures had become impossible and the airport's main halls overflowed with waiting passengers.

Roads to the airport were reopened around 0430 GMT (12.30pm Singapore time), as power was restored, but the disruption of services would have "severe consequences for air traffic during the day", airport spokesman Jacco Bartels said.

This would also affect flights to Amsterdam at other airports, as Schiphol would only be able to handle 10 arriving planes per hour on Sunday morning as priority was given to the large number of flights waiting to leave the airport.

Schiphol is the third-busiest airport in Europe in numbers of travellers, after London Heathrow and Paris Charles de Gaulle.