Rugby: Wallabies line-up Tests with Fiji, Scotland, Italy

Australian Wallabies rugby coach Michael Cheika (centre) speaks to his players during a training session, in Sydney on Oct 20, 2016. PHOTO: AFP

SYDNEY (AFP) - Australia will play Fiji, Scotland and Italy in home Tests next year with all three kicking off in the afternoon to make them more appealing to families.

Fiji will be first up in Melbourne on June 10 followed by Scotland in Sydney seven days later and Italy in Brisbane the weekend after that.

Australian Rugby Union chief Bill Pulver said it will be the first time all three mid-year Tests will be played in daylight.

"Fans have told us that they would like more opportunities to watch Test rugby in the afternoon, with clearly the biggest reason being that an afternoon time slot makes it much easier to take the family along," he said.

Wallabies June schedule:

10 - Australia v Fiji at Melbourne

17 - Australia v Scotland at Sydney

24 - Australia v Italy at Brisbane

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.