On The Ball: Transformative Dias and Gundogan top candidates to be named PFA Player of the Year

Manchester City have two outstanding contenders, Ruben Dias and Ilkay Gundogan. PHOTO: REUTERS
New: Gift this subscriber-only story to your friends and family

Pep Guardiola is the serial winner who remembers the trophies that did not make their way to the Etihad Stadium. The team prizes often end up with Manchester City, the individual honours less so.

"When we won the Premier Leagues, it was won by a Liverpool player," he complained last summer.

Already a subscriber? 

Read the full story and more at $9.90/month

Get exclusive reports and insights with more than 500 subscriber-only articles every month

Unlock these benefits

  • All subscriber-only content on ST app and straitstimes.com

  • Easy access any time via ST app on 1 mobile device

  • E-paper with 2-week archive so you won't miss out on content that matters to you

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.