SMRT collision: Service disruption on 17 East-West Line stations to accelerate resignalling project

SPH Brightcove Video
​SMRT, Thales and the Land Transport Authority said that a protective "bubble" around an east-bound train was unexpectedly disabled when it passed by a trackside device at Clementi on Nov 15.
Joo Koon MRT station on Nov 16, 2017, a day after the train collision. ST PHOTO: LIM YAOHUI

SINGAPORE - From Dec 8 to Dec 31, 17 East-West Line (EWL) stations from Tiong Bahru to Tuas Link, and two North-South Line stations Bukit Batok and Bukit Gombak, will close earlier on Fridays and Saturdays.

They will also open later on Saturdays and Sundays to facilitate resignalling works and accelerate the timeline for the entire EWL to run on the new communications-based train control system. This will affect 20,000-30,000 people.

Reduced train service hours will also be implemented along other stretches of the North-South and East-West Lines (NSEWL) in the first half of 2018 to facilitate resignalling works and other renewal and maintenance works.

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) and SMRT made the announcement at a second press conference on Tuesday (Nov 21) relating to the Joo Koon incident last Wednesday when two trains collided.

LTA, SMRT and Thales said going forward, services between the Tuas West Extension (TWE) and the rest of the East-West Line will be kept separate, until the entire line can be upgraded to Thales' signalling system.

"To end their (Thales') misery, we just keep this complete separation, so we have a clean system," Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan said.

Commuters using the TWE will have to get off the train at Joo Koon MRT station, transfer to a bus, and then reboard the train at Gul Circle, and onwards to Tuas Crescent, Tuas West Road and Tuas Link stations.

Remote video URL
Remote video URL

Join ST's WhatsApp Channel and get the latest news and must-reads.