MRT services in the West to start later on Sunday from June

Trains waiting to move into Jurong East MRT station.
Trains waiting to move into Jurong East MRT station.PHOTO: ST FILE

SINGAPORE - From June 5 to Dec 18, train services at 13 stations along the North-South and East-West MRT lines will start at 7am on Sundays - about 90 minutes later than usual.

This is to allow more time for track maintenance and renewal works on the western sector of the network.

The stations are from Joo Koon to Queenstown on the East-west Line and Jurong East to Bukit Gombak on the North-south Line, SMRT announced Wednesday (May 11).

A new parallel bus service will ply from Joo Koon MRT station to Bukit Gombak MRT station (via Jurong East MRT station) in both directions. The service will operate with a 10-minute interval between 5.30am and 7am on Sundays when train services are not available.

Fares will be similar to train fares of the same distance. Train, bus and hybrid concession passes will be accepted, SMRT said.

Existing bus services are available for journeys between Jurong East MRT station and Queenstown MRT station.

"Starting train services at 7am on Sundays at the 13 NSEWL stations will give our project teams, track patrol teams and maintenance teams 29 additional work nights over the six-month period," SMRT said. "We seek the understanding and patience of commuters."