The Straits Times Singaporean of the Year 2017 to be announced on Tuesday evening

(Top row, from left) Dr Goh Wei Leong, Muhammad Luqman Abdul Rahman, Mr Satwant Singh, Mr Mohamad Fuad Abdul Aziz and Mr Syed Abdillah Alhabshee, and Kyra Poh. (Bottom row, from left) Ms Qin Yunquan, Mr Sonny Liew, Mr Jason Chee, Ms Kirsten Tan and Mr Wong Kah Chun. PHOTOS: ST FILE

SINGAPORE - The Straits Times Singaporean of the Year 2017 will be announced at an award ceremony on Tuesday evening (Feb 6).

The 2017 recipient was selected from 10 finalists, following a public vote and deliberation by a 15-judge panel.

President Halimah Yacob will present the awardee with a cash prize of $20,000 and a trophy at UBS University Asia-Pacific. The other nine finalists will get $5,000 each.

Organised by The Straits Times and sponsored by UBS Singapore, the award honours Singaporeans who have put the country on the world map, persevered through incredible adversity or made the community a better place through selfless acts. It is now in its third year.

The 2017 finalists are film-maker Kirsten Tan; conductor Wong Kah Chun; cartoonist Sonny Liew; para-athlete Jason Chee; general practitioner Goh Wei Leong and HealthServe, the charity he co-founded; indoor skydiver Kyra Poh; student Muhammad Luqman Abdul Rahman; lawyer Satwant Singh; martial arts instructor Qin Yunquan; and emergency responders Mohamad Fuad Abdul Aziz and Syed Abdillah Alhabshee.

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.