Singapore names eight latest warships

SINGAPORE - The names of Singapore's newest warships have been chosen, two months ahead of the launch of the first ship.

The names for the new littoral mission vessels are: Independence, Indomitable, Sovereignty, Fortitude, Unity, Dauntless, Justice and Fearless.

The Republic of Singapore Navy (RSN) announced the eight names on Friday in a post on its Facebook page.

The names were chosen after a three-month contest that asked the public to choose from 40 names shortlisted by the RSN or come up with their own names. The best entry would win $3,000.

In a Facebook post, Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen said the contest received "overwhelming response", with 12,000 entries submitted.

He said that the new names were "well chosen and meaningful names, dedicated to our founding generation who had these attributes and ideals that helped Singapore succeed in many battles".

The littoral mission vessels will replace the navy's Fearless-class patrol vessels.

The first ship, RSS Independence, will be launched in July.

The keel-laying ceremony, which signals the start of work on the ship's hull, was held last September for the first vessel.


Join ST's WhatsApp Channel and get the latest news and must-reads.