National Population and Talent Division, National Climate Change Secretariat to join PMO Strategy Group

SINGAPORE - From Aug 1, the National Population and Talent Division (NPTD) and the National Climate Change Secretariat (NCCS) will come under the Strategy Group in the Prime Minister's Office (PMO), a statement from the Public Service Division, PMO said on Thursday (July 7).

The PMO also announced that Mr Niam Chiang Meng, 58, Permanent Secretary (NPTD & NCCS) will retire from the administrative service on Aug 1 after 33 years of service in the public sector.

The move will enhance strategy-making and planning on vital issues that span multiple Government ministries and agencies, the PMO said in the press release.

NPTD coordinates and formulates government policies on population and talent, while NCCS leads the national effort to address the challenges and opportunities of climate change

The Strategy Group was set up in July 2015 to support the Prime Minister and his Cabinet to establish priorities and strengthen strategic alignment across Government.

Permanent Secretary (PMO, Strategy), Mr Peter Ong, will take over from Mr Niam in overseeing the work of NPTD and NCCS with effect from Aug 1. Mr Ong holds a concurrent appointment as Head of Civil Service.

The PMO said that under Mr Niam's leadership, NPTD enhanced marriage and parenthood policies and implemented strategies to strengthen community integration and outreach to Singaporeans abroad.

At NCCS, it added that Mr Niam was instrumental in developing Singapore's strategy and strengthening national capabilities to meet the challenges from climate change.

This included the planning and coordination of government efforts to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and achieve economic growth in a carbon efficient way.

Under his watch, NCCS played an active role in Singapore's participation in the historic Paris Agreement under the United Nations framework to address climate change.

Mr Niam was awarded the Public Administration Medal (Silver) in 1995 and the Public Administration Medal (Gold) in 2001 for his contributions to the Public Service.