Haw Par Villa, built in 1937 by the Myanmar-Chinese Aw brothers of Tiger Balm ointment fame, still stands today along Pasir Panjang Road, although it is a shadow of its former self. Visitor numbers for the past two decades are a far cry from its heyday - an estimated 200,000 people visit every year, down from the million or so visitors every year in the 1970s and 1980s. Experts believe that, more than just a gruesome display of Chinese folklore, the ageing park is a unique cultural resource and should be designated as a national monument. Here's a look at the park today.
We have been experiencing some problems with subscriber log-ins and apologise for the inconvenience caused. Until we resolve the issues, subscribers need not log in to access ST Digital articles. But a log-in is still required for our PDFs.