HDB appoints new board members and deputy chairman

SINGAPORE - The Housing and Development Board (HDB) will have a deputy chairman and four new board members on Thursday while four are stepping down.

The HDB board will continue to be led by incumbent Chairman James Koh Cher Siang, while Mr Bobby Chin Yoke Choong has been appointed as deputy chairman.

Mr Chin is now the chairman of NTUC Fairprice Co-operative Ltd. He was the managing partner of accountancy firm KPMG Singapore for 13 years, from 1992 until his retirement in 2005. He also serves as a member of the Council of Presidential Advisers.

The four new board members are: Professor Lily Kong, Provost and Lee Kong Chian professor of Social Sciences, Singapore Management University; Professor Heng Chye Kiang, Dean, School of Design & Environment, National University of Singapore; Dr Sudha Nair, executive director, Centre for Promoting Alternatives to Violence; and Ms Teoh Zsin Woon, deputy secretary of development, Ministry of Health.

Six board members have been reappointed. They are: Mr Matthias Yao Chih, director of Agmonton Pte Ltd; Mr Ong Chong Tee, deputy managing director of financial supervision at the Monetary Authority of Singapore; Mr Tham Sai Choy, managing partner, KPMG LLP, BG Mervyn Tan Wei Ming, commander, Headquarters Air Defence and Operations Command, Ministry of Defence; Mr Mohd Sa'at Abdul Rahman, Editor of Berita Harian/Berita Minggu, Singapore Press Holdings; and Dr Cheong Koon Hean, chief executive officer at HDB.

The new term of the HDB board will be from Oct 1, 2015 to Sept 30, 2018.

Board members stepping down are: Mr Tham Kui Seng, director of The Straits Trading Company; Mrs Chng Sok Hui, chief financial officer, DBS Bank; Ms Ong Toon Hui, Dean & chief executive officer, Civil Service College, and deputy secretary of development, Public Service Division; and Associate Professor Yu Shi Ming, department of real estate, National University of Singapore.