12-member Medishield Life Council appointed by Minister of Health

A screengrab of the MediShield Life website.
A screengrab of the MediShield Life website.

SINGAPORE - A 12-member body has been appointed to help ensure a smooth transition from MediShield to MediShield Life later this year.

The MediShield Life Council will be established from Saturday (Aug 1) and will provide advice to Health Minister Gan Kim Yong, said the Ministry of Health (MOH) in a press release on Thursday.

It will make recommendations on policy and scheme parameters to ensure MediShield Life provides affordable and effective protection, review administration of the scheme and advise Mr Gan on the investment of the MediShield Life Fund.


The council's members come from diverse backgrounds - including professional experience in areas such as accountancy, insurance, medicine and the law - and will be chaired by Mrs Fang Ai Lian, an advisor of Far East Organisation and a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales.

Mrs Fang's deputy is Mr Hee Theng Fong, a consultant at Harry Elias Partnership LLP.

"We are honoured to play a role in this universal national healthcare insurance scheme. My council members and I are committed to help ensure the relevance and sustainability of this healthcare safety net for all Singaporeans," said Mrs Fang.

The council will serve a two-year term till July 31, 2017.

10 other members of the MediShield Life Council

Mrs Hauw Soo Hoon - Operating Partner, iGlobe Partners

Mr Sallim Abdul Kadir - Director, Consistel (Singapore) Pte Ltd

Mr Shekaran Krishnan - Partner, Ernst &Young LLP

Ms K.Thanaletchimi - President, Health Services Employees' Union

Mr Ng Soo Nam - Managing Director & Head, Asian Equities, Threadneedle Investments Singapore (Pte) Ltd

Prof Ong Yong Yau - Emeritus Consultant, Singapore General Hospital

Dr Tan Yew Oo - Specialist in Medical Oncology, SOC Clinic @ Farrer Park

Mrs Tan Ching Yee (government representive) - Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health

Mr Augustin Lee (government representive) - Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Manpower

Mr Soh Chin Heng - Deputy Chief Executive (Services), CPF Board