Halimah Yacob returns to Parliament House, where she was first sworn in as MP in 2001

SINGAPORE - Halimah Yacob on Monday (Sept 11) shared photos on Facebook of her return to the Parliament House, to the chambers where she was first sworn in as MP in 2001.

She thanked her ex-parliamentary colleagues for their warm welcome and for their dedication, commitment and support when she was Speaker of Parliament.

She was the only presidential hopeful to be issued a certificate of eligibility by the Presidential Elections Committee on Monday.

At her first press conference after being declared the only candidate eligible to run in this month's presidential election, she said: "Whether there is an election or no election, my passion and commitment to serve the people of Singapore remains the same."

Madam Halimah Yacob and her husband, Mr Mohamed Abdullah Alhabshee, attend Parliament on Monday (Sept 11). PHOTO: FACEBOOK/HALIMAH YACOB
(From left) Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office and Minister of State for Manpower Sam Tan, MP Lim Wee Kiak (Sembawang GRC), Madam Halimah Yacob, her husband, MP Tin Pei Ling (Macpherson), and MP Rahayu Mahzam (Jurong GRC). PHOTO: FACEBOOK/HALIMAH YACOB
(Front row, from left) MP Charles Chong (Punggol East), Minister for Culture, Community and Youth & Leader of the House Grace Fu, Mr Mohamed Abdullah Alhabshee, Madam Halimah Yacob, NMP Thomas Chua, and NMP Mahdev Mohan. (Back row, from left) Minister for Communications and Information Yaacob Ibrahim, Mr Chong Kee Hiong from Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, MP Vikram Nair (Sembawang GRC MP), NMP Randolph Tan, MP Lee Bee Wah (Nee Soon GRC MP), MP Lim Biow Chuan (Mountbatten MP) MP Daryl David (Ang Mo Kio GRC MP), MP Joan Pereira (Tanjong Pagar GRC), PM Lee Hsien Loong, Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Transport & Ministry of Health Lam Pin Min, Deputy Prime Minister and Coordinating Minister for Economic and Social Policies Tharman Shanmugaratnam, MP Tan Wu Meng (Jurong GRC MP), MP Png Eng Huat (Hougang MP), and Minister for Defence Ng Eng Hen. PHOTO: FACEBOOK/HALIMAH YACOB
(From left) MP Henry Kwek (Nee Soon GRC), MP Lily Neo (Jalan Besar GRC), MP Cheryl Chan (Fengshan), MP Rahyu Mahzam (Jurong GRC), Senior Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Trade and Industry & Ministry of Education Low Yen Ling, Speaker of Parliament Tan Chuan-Jin, Madam Halimah Yacob, MP Intan Azura Mokhtar (Ang Mo Kio GRC), Minister for Finance Heng Swee Keat, MP Cheng Li Hui (Tampines GRC), MP Jessica Tan (East Coast GRC), and MP Joan Pereira (Tanjong Pagar GRC). PHOTO: FACEBOOK/HALIMAH YACOB
Madam Halimah poses for a group photograph on the stairs at the Parliament House during her visit on Sept 11. PHOTO: FACEBOOK/HALIMAH YACOB

Join ST's WhatsApp Channel and get the latest news and must-reads.