Appointments to the Supreme Court Bench

SINGAPORE - Two Judges of Appeal and two Judicial Commissioners have been appointed to the Supreme Court Bench by the President, on the advice of the Prime Minister.

The swearing-in ceremony for the appointments will be held at the Istana on Aug 2, the Prime Minister's Office said in a statement.

Justice Judith Prakash and Justice Tay Yong Kwang have been appointed as Judges of Appeal of the Supreme Court. Their appointments will be effective from Aug 1.

Mr Pang Khang Chau and Ms Audrey Lim Yoon Cheng have been appointed as Judicial Commissioners. Their appointment will take effect on Aug 1 for a period of 3 years.

Attorney-General V K Rajah said: "Khang Chau has played a key role in some of the most significant foreign policy achievements of Singapore in the past decade. He is greatly respected in both AGC and at the highest levels of the Government for his impressive legal and institutional knowledge, diplomatic acumen and sound advice.

"Audrey has been a key member of the AGC senior leadership team. She is highly respected for her forthrightness and commitment to excellence."

With these appointments, the Supreme Court will have a total of 14 Judges (including four Judges of Appeal and the Chief Justice), 12 Judicial Commissioners, five Senior Judges and 12 International Judges.