10 scientists receive Singapore National Academy of Science fellowships for their work

(From left) President of Singapore National Academy of Science Andrew Wee, Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore, Ariff Bongso, Professor of Chemistry, Nanyang Technological University, Loh Teck Peng, Medical Director and Senior Consultant Ophthalmologist, Singapore National Eye Centre, Wong Tien Yin, and Distinguished Professor of Mathematics, National University of Singapore, Gan Wee Teck. ST PHOTO: DESMOND WEE

SINGAPORE - Ten scientists were recognised for their work in biology, chemistry and physics on Tuesday (May 22), when they received the Singapore National Academy of Science (SNAS) fellowships.

The 10 hailed from institutions such as the National University of Singapore (NUS), the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*Star), and the Nanyang Technological University .

These fellowships are given to recognise outstanding individuals in Singapore who have distinguished themselves in the field of science, said SNAS.

One of the fellows, Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology Ariff Bongso, from the Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine at NUS, conducts research into stem cells and their application - an area of intense medical research for the possibilities it could open up in the treatment of diseases.

Stem cells are capable of regenerating and differentiating into various cell types in a person's body. For example, stem cells can be induced to become blood, bone and tendons that can replace degenerated tissue.

SNAS president Andrew Wee said science in Singapore has advanced over the years.

It has acclaimed scientists, universities that are ranked well internationally, and research institutes that have evolved into "centres of research excellence", said Prof Wee.

"All these augur well for the future of science, technology and research in Singapore," he said. "The election of another 10 distinguished scientists as Fellows of the Singapore National Academy of Science is a matter of pride for our Academy as well as recognition by our academy of their contributions to the country."

On Tuesday, the SNAS also conferred an honorary Fellowship on Professor Anthony Cheetham, Fellow of the Royal Society, for his contributions to the development of science in Singapore.

This is the fourth group of scientists who have been conferred the SNAS fellowship.

Join ST's WhatsApp Channel and get the latest news and must-reads.