Ministers of State, Koh Poh Koon and Janil Puthucheary, sworn in

Swearing-In Ceremony of Ministers of State Dr Koh Poh Koon and Dr Janil Puthucheary.
Swearing-In Ceremony of Ministers of State Dr Koh Poh Koon and Dr Janil Puthucheary.PHOTO: ZAOBAO

SINGAPORE - Two Ministers of State formally took up their new posts on Tuesday (Jan 5) when they were sworn in at the Istana, completing Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's team for the new term of Government.

They are Dr Koh Poh Koon and Dr Janil Puthucheary, both of whom are medical doctors and aged 43. Both started work last Friday .

Dr Koh is junior minister at the Ministry of Trade and Industry as well as National Development while Dr Janil's two portfolios are Education plus Communications and Information.

The two men took their oaths before President Tony Tan Keng Yam, in a solemn ceremony witnessed by Mr Lee and their family members.

Dr Koh's wife and two daughters as well as Dr Janil's wife and parents attended the ceremony.

The other 35 office-holders, including Cabinet ministers, were sworn in in October.

Separately, the President on Tuesday also re-appointed some members of the Council of Presidential Advisers for the next four years.

Mr Bobby Chin, chairman of NTUC Fairprice Co-operative, was named a member again, while senior international adviser to Singbridge Group Lim Chee Onn and Singapore Airlines chairman Stephen Lee were re-appointed as alternate members.