Public submission for NMPs opens Monday; blogger Xiaxue to garner support for nomination

Then President Tony Tan Keng Yam and his wife Mary (centre) and then Parliament Speaker Halimah Yacob (fifth from left) together with NMPs (from left) Randolph Tan, Kuik Shiao-Yin, Ganesh Rajaram, Chia Yong Yong, Azmoon Ahmad, Thomas Chua, Kok Heng Leun, Mahdev Mohan and K. Thanaletchimi. PHOTO: ST FILE

SINGAPORE - From Monday (June 4), the public may submit names of individuals for consideration to become Nominated Members of Parliament in the next term.

They have a month to do so - the deadline is 4.30pm on July 6.

Nominees should have rendered distinguished public service, brought honour to Singapore, or have distinguished themselves in their respective field, said the Office of the Clerk of Parliament.

These fields are: arts and letters, sports, culture, the sciences, business, industry, the professions, social or community service or the labour movement.

The NMP scheme was introduced in 1990 to provide alternative voices in Parliament. There can be up to nine NMPs each term, lasting two and a half years.

The current term ends in September, and The Straits Times has previously reported that at least half of the current nine NMPs are likely to step down then.

The NMPs who have confirmed that they are leaving are Ms Kuik Shiao-Yin, Mr Thomas Chua, Mr Kok Heng Leun and Mr Azmoon Ahmad. Ms K Thanaletchimi, a unionist, is also unlikely to continue as the NMP representing the labour movement usually serves just one term. Ms Chia Yong Yong said on Monday night that she has yet to decide while Associate Professor Randolph Tan declined comment.

Meanwhile, popular blogger Wendy Cheng, also known as Xiaxue, has already expressed an interest in stepping forward.

She told The Straits Times on Sunday night that she intends to approach those who are supportive of her being an NMP - including some who are prominent figures in their fields - about submitting her name. She declined to name them.

The 34-year-old had said that if selected, she would raise issues relating to the Internet, media, women and motherhood.

The names of candidates are to be submitted to an eight-member Special Select Committee chaired by Speaker Tan Chuan-Jin.

Its other members are: Senior Minister of State for Trade and Industry and Education Chee Hong Tat; Minister for Culture, Community and Youth Grace Fu, Senior Minister of State for Trade and Industry Koh Poh Koon, Aljunied GRC MP Sylvia Lim, Manpower Minister Josephine Teo, Sembawang GRC MP Vikram Nair and Minister for National Development Lawrence Wong.

Besides submissions from the general public, seven functional groups - business and industry; the professions; labour movement; social service organisations; civic and people sector; tertiary education institutions; and media, arts and sports organisations - are also invited to submit names of suitable candidates.

Each has a coordinator appointed to seek the views of their constituent organisations.

Singapore Business Federation chairman Teo Siong Seng, the coordinator of the business and industry group, told The Straits Times: "We will check with the trade associations, the chambers, and also individuals whom we think may have interest. Some people approach us to put their name forward as well."

He added that this process usually takes a month or so.

"What we look for are people who can represent the commerce sector... paying attention to small and medium-size enterprises, especially the challenges they are facing such as the cost of doing business."

After the submissions, the Select Committee will inform MPs of the persons proposed and seek their views on these individuals. It will then interview candidates and decide who to nominate as NMPs.

A person is qualified for appointment as an NMP if he or she is Singaporean, aged 21 or above and on the current register of electors.

Among other requirements, he or she should also be able to take active part in Parliament proceedings, to speak and, unless unable to due to blindness or other physical cause, to read and write at least one of the official languages: English, Malay, Mandarin or Tamil.

Submission of names must be made using the forms available on The completed forms and supporting documents can be submitted at Parliament House, or via email to

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.