Unesco bid for the kebaya: A look at the fashion uniting 5 South-east Asian countries

The kebaya is a woman’s tunic which is part of the “sarong kebaya” or “kain kebaya”, and is worn in a variety of styles across South-east Asia. ST PHOTO: DESMOND FOO
New: Gift this subscriber-only story to your friends and family

SINGAPORE – It has been decided: The kebaya will be going to Unesco. 

Five South-east Asian countries – Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand – will be jointly nominating the traditional women’s garment, which is popular in the region, to be inscribed on the Unesco Intangible Cultural Heritage List of Humanity. The bid is expected to be ready by the end of March.

Already a subscriber? 

Read the full story and more at $9.90/month

Get exclusive reports and insights with more than 500 subscriber-only articles every month

Unlock these benefits

  • All subscriber-only content on ST app and straitstimes.com

  • Easy access any time via ST app on 1 mobile device

  • E-paper with 2-week archive so you won't miss out on content that matters to you

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.