Board changes at EDB, A*Star and IE Singapore

SINGAPORE - The Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) announced on Friday (Jan 29) changes to the boards of the Economic Development Board (EDB), the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*Star) and International Enterprise (IE) Singapore.

For EDB, MTI has appointed Mr Patrick Tay Teck Guan, NTUC's assistant secretary general to the board with effect from Feb 1. Mr Tay is also Member of Parliament for West Coast GRC (Boon Lay). He chairs the Government Parliamentary Committee (GPC) for Manpower and sits on the GPCs for Law and Home Affairs.

Two other EDB board members have been re-appointed by MTI: Mr Tan Pheng Hock, president and CEO, Singapore Technologies Engineering Ltd and Mr Jean-Luc Butel, president of K8 Global and senior advisor, McKinsey & Company.

Three EDB board members will be stepping down upon completion of their terms on Jan 31. They are Mr Kwek Mean Luck, 2nd Solicitor-General, Attorney General Chambers (AGC), Ms Cham Hui Fong, NTUC assistant secretary-general & director of industrial relations and Mr Bruno Guilmart, ECD independent director.

For A*Star, MTI has appointed to it board Dr Tatsumi Yamazaki, distinguished advisor to Chugai Pharmaceutical Co Ltd with effect from Feb 1.

It has also re-appointed two board members: Dr William Chin, executive vice president for scientific and regulatory affairs, at PhRMA and Mr Lam Yi Young, deputy secretary (Policy) for the Ministry of Education. Dr Tadataka Yamada, venture partner at Frazier Healthcare, will be stepping down from the board when his term ends on Jan 31.

As for IE Singapore, MTI has re-appointed Mr Seah Moon Ming as its chairman with effect from Jan 1.

It has also reappointed three board members with effect from Jan 1. They are Brigadier-General Lim Tuang Liang, Chief of Staff, Air Staff, Ministry of Defense; Mr Eugene Wong, founder and managing director, Sirius Venture Capital Pte Ltd; and, Mr Tan Chong Meng, Group CEO, PSA International Pte Ltd.