Who are the four brothers who dominate Sri Lanka politics?

The four Rajapaksa brothers (clockwise from top left) Mahinda, Gotabaya, Basil and Chamal. PHOTOS: AFP, REUTERS
New: Gift this subscriber-only story to your friends and family

SINGAPORE - The powerful Rajapaksa family has been synonymous with politics in Sri Lanka for decades.

Until recently, the influence wielded by the four Rajapaksa brothers across the political landscape on the island-nation of 22 million was formidable. Between them, they held top positions in the government, including those of the president, prime minister, finance minister, irrigation minister and sports minister.

Already a subscriber? 

Read the full story and more at $9.90/month

Get exclusive reports and insights with more than 500 subscriber-only articles every month

Unlock these benefits

  • All subscriber-only content on ST app and straitstimes.com

  • Easy access any time via ST app on 1 mobile device

  • E-paper with 2-week archive so you won't miss out on content that matters to you

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.