Imran Khan ousted: No Pakistani PM has completed a full 5-year tenure

Former Pakistani prime ministers Imran Khan (left) and Nawaz Sharif. PHOTOS: NYTIMES, AFP

KARACHI (REUTERS) - No prime minister has completed a full five-year tenure in Pakistan's 75-year history - a trend extended with the ouster of Mr Imran Khan, who lost a no-confidence vote on Sunday (April 10).

Up until that point, Pakistan, a parliamentary democracy for most of its history, has had a total of 29 prime ministers since 1947 - one of whom took on the role twice in one year.

On 18 occasions, they have been removed on different pretexts, including corruption charges, direct military coups and forced resignations due to infighting in ruling groups.

There was one assassination.

The remaining premiers held the position for a limited time as caretakers to oversee fresh elections or to see out a dismissed premier's tenure.

The year 1993 was particularly fraught, with five changes in the premiership.

The shortest tenure for a prime minister is two weeks, while the longest is four years and two months.

Mr Nawaz Sharif has been elected prime minister three times - in 1990, 1997 and 2013 - the most for a single candidate.

The following is a list of prime ministers since 1947 whose tenures ended prematurely. It does not include caretaker premiers or those who completed another prime minister's term.

Liaquat Ali Khan

Pakistan's first prime minister. Took office in August 1947. He was assassinated at a political rally on Oct 16, 1951.

Tenure: Four years and two months.

Khawaja Nazimuddin

Took office on Oct 17, 1951. He was dismissed on April 17, 1953, by the country's governor-general - a powerful position inherited from British colonial rule - on charges of mismanaging religious riots.

Tenure: One year and six months.

Muhammad Ali Bogra

Took office on April 17, 1953. Resigned on Aug 11, 1955.

Tenure: Two years and three months.

Chaudhry Mohammad Ali

Took office in August 1955. Internal differences in the ruling party led to his ouster on Sept 12, 1956.

Tenure: One year and one month.

Hussain Shaheed Suhrawardy

Took office on Sept 12, 1956. Forced from office after differences with other power centres on Oct 18, 1957.

Tenure: One year and one month.

Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar

Took office in October 1957. Resigned on Dec 16 that year, faced with a no-confidence vote in Parliament.

Tenure: Less than two months.

Malik Feroz Khan Noon

Took office on Dec 16, 1957. Dismissed due to the imposition of martial law in Pakistan on Oct 7, 1958.

Tenure: Less than 10 months.

Noorul Amin

Took office on Dec 7, 1971. Left office on Dec 20 that year shortly after the secession of Bangladesh from Pakistan.

Tenure: Less than two weeks.

Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto

Took office on Aug 14, 1973. He was overthrown by a military coup on July 5, 1977, and eventually jailed and executed.

Tenure: Three years and 11 months.

Muhammad Khan Junejo

Took office in March 1985. He was dismissed on May 29, 1988, by the military chief who was also the president.

Tenure: Three years and two months.

Benazir Bhutto

Ms Benazir Bhutto was the first woman leader of a Muslim nation, taking office on Dec 2, 1988. PHOTO: REUTERS

Daughter of slain premier Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto and the first woman leader of a Muslim nation. Took office on Dec 2, 1988. Her government was dismissed on Aug 6, 1990, by the president, a close aid of the deceased military ruler, on charges of corruption.

Tenure: One year and eight months.

It would be the first of three governments dismissed on similar charges using the sweeping powers of the president.

Nawaz Sharif

Took office on Nov 6, 1990. His government was also dismissed by the president on similar charges to Ms Bhutto on April 18, 1993.

He was able to get the decision overturned by the courts a few weeks later and returned to office, but resigned again after differences with the military.

Total tenure: Two years and seven months.

Benazir Bhutto

Returned to power for her second tenure on Oct 19, 1993. Was dismissed by the president once again on charges of misgovernance on Nov 5, 1996.

Tenure: Just over three years.

Nawaz Sharif

Came to power a second time on Feb 17, 1997. Overthrown by a military coup - the third in Pakistan's history - on Oct 12, 1999.

Tenure: Two years and eight months.

Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali

Elected prime minister during military rule in November 2002. He resigned after differences with the military on June 26, 2004.

Tenure: One year and seven months.

Yousaf Raza Gilani

Mr Yousaf Raza Gilani (right) arriving at the Parliament House building in Islamabad on April 9, 2022. PHOTO: AFP

Elected prime minister on March 25, 2008. He was disqualified by the Supreme Court of Pakistan in 2012 on charges of "contempt of court".

Tenure: Four years and one month.

Nawaz Sharif

Elected prime minister for a third time on June 5, 2013. He was dismissed by the Supreme Court of Pakistan on charges of concealing assets on July 28, 2017.

Tenure: Four years and two months.

Imran Khan

Elected as prime minister on Aug 18, 2018. Voted out of power via a no-confidence motion by the opposition on April 10, 2022.

Tenure: Three years and seven months.

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.