Malaysia to reimpose MCO in some states: What do the Covid-19 restrictions entail

Malaysia announced fresh nationwide movement restrictions that will run from Jan 13 to Jan 26. PHOTO: EPA-EFE

KUALA LUMPUR - Malaysia on Monday (Jan 11) announced fresh nationwide movement restrictions to curb the increasing number of Covid-19 cases.

Five states - Melaka, Johor, Penang, Selangor and Sabah - and the federal territories of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan and Putrajaya will re-enter the movement control order (MCO), Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin announced in a televised address.

The reimposed measures will run from Wednesday to Jan 26.

Here are the key restrictions under the MCO:

• No travelling between states or districts

• Roadblocks will be set up to limit travel to a 10km radius from home

• People are urged to stay home; only two people per household are allowed to head out to buy groceries

• Only two people are allowed per vehicle

• Social gatherings are banned, including weddings, seminars and group sport

• Eateries and hawker stalls may operate but only takeaways and food deliveries are allowed

• Supermarkets, healthcare services and banks are allowed to operate, with strict compliance to standard operating procedures: always wear masks, use hand sanitiser frequently, and observe physical distancing at all times

• Outdoor recreational activities allowed among people from the same household

• No more than two people are allowed to jog together at any one time

• Only five essential economic sectors are allowed to operate: manufacturing, construction, service, trade and distribution, and plantations and commodities

• Non-essential services staff to work from home

• Maximum of five people allowed in mosques and houses of worship

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.