Sunday, May 24, 2015Sunday, May 24, 2015

New Nominated Members of Parliament appointed by President Tony Tan at Istana

Published on Aug 26, 2014 1:53 PM
At the Istana after the ceremony are (from left) Nominated Members of Parliament associate professor Randolph Tan, Kuik Shiao-Yin, Rita Soh, Chia Yong Yong, Speaker of Parliament Halimah Yacob, President Tony Tan Keng Yam and wife Mary Tan, NMPs Thomas Chua, Ismail Hussein, K. Karthikeyan, Dr Benedict Tan and Professor Tan Tai Yong. -- ST PHOTO: KEVIN LIM

SINGAPORE - Nine new Nominated Members of Parliament (NMPs) received their instruments of appointment from President Tony Tan Keng Yam at an Istana ceremony as they began their 2½-year term on Tuesday.

The group, chosen by a parliamentary committee chaired by Speaker of Parliament Halimah Yacob, will be sworn in when Parliament next sits on Sept 8.

The NMPs are corporate lawyer Chia Yong Yong, 52, who has peroneal muscular dystrophy and uses a wheelchair; Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry president Thomas Chua, 60; veteran unionist K. Karthikeyan, 55; social entrepreneur Kuik Shiao-Yin, 36; Board of Architects Singapore president Rita Soh, 55; doctor and former national sailor Benedict Tan, 47; labour economist Randolph Tan, 50; veteran historian Tan Tai Yong, 51; and bank executive Ismail Hussein, 51, who is a director of the Association of Muslim Professionals.

In a separate ceremony on Tuesday at the Istana, Mr Albert Chua was appointed Second Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA).

Enjoy 2 weeks of unlimited digital access to The Straits Times. Get your free access now!