Long weekends in 2016: A calendar to help you plan your holidays

SINGAPORE - The Ministry of Manpower has released dates of public holidays for 2016, with six of the 11 falling on a Friday, Sunday or Monday.

By taking just three days of leave off work, you can add two more long weekends to the existing six.

The long weekends in 2016 will occur on New Year's Day, Chinese New Year, Good Friday, Labour Day, Hari Raya Haji and Christmas Day.

Hari Raya Puasa and National Day fall on a Wednesday and a Tuesday respectively. By taking some days off before or after these holidays, you could turn them into long weekends as well.

Public Holidays 2016

Jan 1 Friday New Year's Day
Feb 8
Feb 9
Monday
Tuesday
Chinese New Year
March 25 Friday Good Friday
May 1 Sunday Labour Day (Monday, May 2, will be a public holiday)
May 21 Saturday Vesak Day
July 6 Wednesday Hari Raya Puasa
Aug 9 Tuesday National Day
Sept 12 Monday

Hari Raya Haji

Oct 29 Saturday Deepavali
Dec 25 Sunday Christmas Day (Monday, Dec 26, will be a public holiday)