US restricts entrants from Ebola-hit nations to five airports

WASHINGTON (REUTERS) - Travellers entering the United States whose trips originated in Ebola-stricken Liberia, Sierra Leone or Guinea must fly into one of five airports that have enhanced screening in place, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security said on Tuesday.

The restrictions, to take effect on Wednesday, will subject affected travellers to temperature tests among other protocols at New York's JFK, New Jersey's Newark, Washington Dulles, Atlanta and Chicago's O'Hare international airports. These airports account for 94 per cent of the flights to the United States from the Ebola-hit nations.

The restrictions apply to all travellers, including U.S. citizens and those who would have arrived by land or sea.

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.