Russia announces own list of sanctions against nine US officials

MOSCOW (AFP) - Russia on Thursday announced it was introducing its own sanctions against US officials, minutes after US President Barack Obama announced new sanctions against Russian officials over the Ukraine crisis.

"There should be no doubt: each hostile attack will be met in an adequate manner," the Russian foreign ministry said, saying it was targeting nine Obama aides and senators.

Moscow's blacklist includes Obama aides Caroline Atkinson, Daniel Pfeiffer and Benjamin Rhodes and senators Mary Landrieu, John McCain and Daniel Coats.

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.