Windsurfer Yong voted top sailor

Audrey Yong.

Windsurfer Audrey Yong was named Sailor of the Year at yesterday's Singapore Sailing Federation's Annual Awards held at Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore. The 21-year-old triumphed in the RS:X event at last year's SEA Games, which was Singapore's first windsurfing gold at the biennial Games since 1989.

Other winners included Sakulfaeng Sakda (Coach of the Year), Daniel Hung (Rookie of the Year), Andrew Foo (Official of the Year) and the SB20 foursome of Jovina Choo, Daniella Ng, Terena Lam and Dawn Liu (Team of the Year).

Seiko was also unveiled as the official timekeeper of Singapore's Olympic sailing squad. The Republic will send a record nine sailors to compete in August's Rio Olympics.

A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Straits Times on June 18, 2016, with the headline 'Windsurfer Yong voted top sailor'. Print Edition | Subscribe