Tennis: Djokovic to play for Singapore in this year's International Premier Tennis League

NOVAK Djokovic, the world's No. 1 tennis player, will wear Singapore's colours for this year's International Premier Tennis League (IPTL).

The Serb was named in the Singapore Slammers side on Sunday when the players' draft was conducted.

He will be joined by former world No. 1 Carlos Moya of Spain.

Others who will feature for Singapore include several up-and-coming players on both the men's and women's professional tours. These include Australians Thanasi Kokkinakis and Nick Kyrgios, who was also part of the Singapore line-up last year. Czech Karolina Pliskova and Swiss Belinda Bencic will also play for the Slammers.

The IPTL is the brainchild of Indian doubles player Mahesh Bhupathi. A mixed-team tournament, it features both current and past stars and is modelled largely on the success of cricket's Indian Premier League. Matches are played in an abbreviated format.

While players do not necessarily appear in each of the stops in the league, they typically make an appearance on the home leg for their team.

Women's world No. 1 Serena Williams, who was the star in the Republic's side last year, will play for the Manila Mavericks this season.

Roger Federer will play for the UAE Royals, while Rafael Nadal, who missed the inaugural season last year, will play for the Indian Aces.

A fifth team - the Japan Warriors - will be added to the league this year. They have top Japanese player and world No. 4 Kei Nishikori on their side, as well as Maria Sharapova.

The second season of the IPTL will kick off on Dec 2 in Japan, moving to each of the four other stops before concluding on Dec 20. The Singapore team finished bottom of the four-team league last year.