Swimming: Lee Kok Choy beats Jessie Phua by just one vote to win SSA election

The most fiercely contested Singapore Swimming Association (SSA) elections in years ended on Friday evening in favour of Lee Kok Choy, who was elected president by the slimmest of margins.

The 62-year-old, who was serving as secretary-general before making a run for presidency, won support from 17 affiliates, edging out Singapore Bowling Federation chief Jessie Phua by just one vote.

Lee is country manager and managing director of Micron Semiconductor, and a previous national breaststroke champion.

His win paved the way for a one-sided victory for his team, with all nine candidates on his team elected successfully. The post of vice-president (diving), which went to William Lee, was not contested.

Among the high-profile names elected: Former Sport Singapore chief executive officer and Olympian Oon Jin Teik, who will be secretary-general. Oon is also the current chief operating officer of the Singapore Sports Hub.

Swimming's golden girl Joscelin Yeo was also appointed vice-president (swimming). She beat former national team-mate Mark Chay.

The new SSA executive committee -

President: Lee Kok Choy

Secretary-general: Oon Jin Teik

Vice-president, Finance: Jose Raymond

Vice-president, Swimming: Joscelin Yeo

Vice-president, Water Polo: Samuel Wong

Vice-president, Diving (Uncontested): William Lee

Treasurer: Sylvia Peh

Assistant secretary-general, Swimming: Ang Peng Wee

Assistant secretary-general: Jerome Lau

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.