Shuttlers confirmed for Tokyo

Singapore shuttlers Loh Kean Yew and Yeo Jia Min have qualified for the Tokyo Olympics after the Badminton World Federation (BWF) confirmed its qualification list on Monday.

While the qualification period closes next Tuesday, the BWF had confirmed in May that there would be no further tournaments due to the coronavirus pandemic. This had led to the postponement of the May 11-16 India Open, May 25-30 Malaysia Open and cancellation of the June 1-6 Singapore Open.

As a result, Loh and Yeo secured their Olympic spots by virtue of being 18th and 17th in the Race to Tokyo men's and women's rankings respectively, with 38 places allocated for each singles event.

Loh, 23, said: "It is an honour to be able to represent Singapore at the Olympics, and I will do my best to make the nation proud."

Both shuttlers are looking forward to making their Olympic debuts and Yeo, 22, added that they have been training hard despite the Covid-induced upheaval that has limited competition opportunities. World No. 42 Loh and Yeo, who is ranked 30th, will leave for Japan next month.

The men's singles event will be headlined by Japan's world No. 1 Kento Momota, while China's Chen Yu Fei and Chinese Taipei's Tai Tzu-ying are leading contenders for the women's singles gold. Spain's defending women's singles champion Carolina Marin has withdrawn with a knee injury.

In a Facebook post, the Singapore Badminton Association said: "We are 100 per cent sure Kean Yew and Jia Min would do their best and do all of us proud."

Minister for Culture, Community and Youth Edwin Tong also congratulated the pair on Facebook.

He wrote: "Really happy for these two, as they will now take their places among the world's best shuttlers. I met them a few months ago on court, as they were training hard, and looking so well - I am sure this news would have brought an even bigger smile to their faces!"

The confirmation of the shuttlers' participation means there are now 18 Singapore athletes across nine sports who have qualified for the Tokyo Olympics.

The others are diver Jonathan Chan, fencers Amita Berthier and Kiria Tikanah Abdul Rahman, gymnast Tan Sze En, rower Joan Poh, sailors Ryan Lo, Kimberly Lim and Cecilia Low, shooter Adele Tan, swimmers Joseph Schooling and Quah Zheng Wen, table tennis players Feng Tianwei, Yu Mengyu, Lin Ye and Clarence Chew, and windsurfer Amanda Ng.

A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Straits Times on June 09, 2021, with the headline 'Shuttlers confirmed for Tokyo'. Subscribe