School sports: Singapore Sports School tops again at annual SPH Schools Relay C'ships

The victorious Singapore Sports School team.
The victorious Singapore Sports School team.ST PHOTO: DESMOND WEE

SINGAPORE - The Singapore Sports School (SSP) emerged victorious for the sixth year in a row at the SPH Schools Relay Championships on Sunday. They beat closest challengers Raffles Instituition by four points.

SSP were also the overall winners for both the B division girls and the B division boys.

SSP's C Division 4x100m runners also clinched the Tay Cheng Khoon Memorial Trophy, awarded to the team who break a record by the largest margin.

The team, comprising Mas Al-Haq Salikin, Lucas Lim Yi Liang, Mohamed Haziq Mohamed Yazli and Reuben Rainer Lee Siong En , all 14, ran a time of 45.35 seconds. That was 0.05sec faster than the old record of 45.40 seconds set by Hwa Chong Instituition in 2008.

A total of 37 teams took part in this year's competition.