School Sports: Raffles Institution sweep A Division tennis titles for fourth straight year

For the fourth consecutive year, Raffles Institution (RI) reigned supreme in A Division Schools National Tennis Championships.

On Wednesday morning, RI defeated Anglo-Chinese School (Independent) and Anglo-Chinese Junior College (ACJC) in the boys' and girls' categories respectively Kallang Squash and Tennis Centre. Both finals ended 3-2 in RI's favour.

Despite being defending champions, both Raffles' teams were made to work for their victory.

Joy Chia and Geraldine Ang won their singles matches to propel ACJC to a 2-0 lead, before RI fought back to win the remaining three other matches to win the girls' crown for the fourth year.

In the boys' category, the score was tied at 2-2 and boiled down to the deciding doubles match. That ended with RI's Christopher Wu and Basir Koh defeating ACS(I)'s Yeo Ee Jin and Imran Mooraj 1-6, 7-6 (7-5), 6-3. It also marked Raffles' sixth consecutive A Division boys' title.

Despite the defeat, ACS(I) captain Ee Jin remained upbeat. The 18-year-old said: "We are a bit disappointed with the result, but we set out with the goal of making the journey worth more than the medal, and we did it by bonding more while training and working hard together."

RI head coach Weber Oh, 43, provided an insight into Raffles' continued success, saying: "I always tell them not to focus on the result, but to make sure that they play their best. We try to prepare them as much as we can, if we lose, we lose fighting. If we win, it's their credit."

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.