Sailing: Expanded DBS Marina Bay Cup starts on Thursday

SINGAPORE - Eight local and international sailing teams will compete in this week's DBS Marina Bay Cup, the largest match racing competition on the local calendar.

Into its second year, this year's edition will feature twice as many teams and include participants from Australia, Malaysia, Thailand, the Philippines and host Singapore during the Sept 15-18 event.

Team Philippines, led by 2015 SEA Games keelboat match racing champion Ridgely Balladares, are the defending champions but face stiff competition from Team Sime Darby Foundation, skippered by Malaysia's top sailor Jeremy Koo, ranked 17th in the world.

Other teams in action at the Marina Bay include those from the Singapore Management University and University of Western Australia.

Practice sessions are on Thursday followed by three days of match racing.