Rugby: Two local 7s tournaments add to build up ahead of April's HSBC Singapore Sevens

SINGAPORE - April may well look like a rugby fan's dream come true. Besides the world-class HSBC Singapore Rugby Sevens, there will also be the Singapore Midnight 7s and the South-east Asia (SEA) 7s.

Sanctioned by the sport's governing body World Rugby, the April 14-15 SEA 7s will feature eight men's (two Singapore teams, Brunei, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines and Thailand) and six women's (Singapore, Indonesia, Laos, Philippines, Malaysia and Thailand) teams.

Singapore finished second in both categories in last year's inaugural edition. The first day of competition will be held at Yio Chu Kang Stadium (9am-7pm, free admission) with the final on April 15 held at the National Stadium during the ticketed HSBC Singapore 7s.

The Midnight 7s, last held in 2008, will be an open tournament featuring men and women categories.

It will be held at Yio Chu Kang stadium from 7pm on April 13 until 1am on April 14. The final rounds will then be played later that day from 3pm-7pm.

Participants can sign up in teams of twelve and the tournament is capped at a maximum of eight teams for each category.

Registration details can be found on and admission is free.

Singapore Rugby Union general manager George Danapal said: "In 2017, we added the Singapore Midnight 7s to allow fans to compete in a friendlier tournament. We hope that through the Singapore Midnight 7s, we can show the social side of rugby where it is a game that brings people together."

Tickets to the HSBC Singapore 7s are still available and can be bought at