Rugby: Six-time SCC 7s champions Daveta from Fiji return for 2017 edition

SINGAPORE - Asia's longest running international club rugby sevens tournament, the Singapore Cricket Club International Rugby Sevens (SCC7s), celebrates its 70th edition this year with Fijian club Daveta gunning for their seventh title.

The Nov 3-5 event at the Padang will feature 16 teams competing for the prestigious Ablitt Cup. Besides Daveta, there will be development sides from France, Hong Kong and Sweden, Papua New Guinea's InterOil Turagu, Japan's Tamariva, 2014 winner Borneo Eagles from Malaysia and Tribe 7s Australia, essentially the country's national developement squad.

The academy sides from South Africa and England have won the past two editions in 2015 and 2016 respectively.

"Celebrating 70 years of world-class rugby action is no easy feat and this signature tournament has become an integral part of the rugby scene in Asia with many outstanding international teams gracing the Padang every year," said Sam Sharpe, co-chair of the organising committee.

"It is the perfect avenue to fuel the passion for the sport among local fans and visitors from around the world, while further developing the sport of rugby in Singapore and in Asia."

Added Singapore Rugby Union president Terence Khoo: "The SCC Sevens is embedded in Singapore rugby culture and is one of the key rugby events on our calendar not to be missed.

"With the recent success of the HSBC Singapore Rugby Sevens and Super Rugby, Singapore is emerging as a rugby hub in Asia and the SCC Sevens adds to this with world-class teams and high profile players competing.

"To have not one but two iconic sevens events in Singapore is truly a testament to the passion and dedication all involved have in ensuring that rugby continue to flourish and adapt in the changing times."

The schools, colleges and corporate touch pool matches start on Friday (Nov 3) while the main tournament begins the next day.

The finals of the Sithawalla Cup (Schools Under 14), John Clark Shield (Schools Under 16), Len Foster Trophy (Schools & Colleges Under 19) and the final rounds of the Ablitt Cup will on Sunday.

Early bird tickets are available at

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.