Rugby: New Zealand's Julian 'The Bus' Savea dominates try of the year contest

New Zealand's wng Julian Savea stretches during a team training session in Sunbury-on-Thames, west of London, ahead of the 2015 Rugby Union World Cup finals. PHOTO: AFP

LONDON (AFP) - New Zealand wing Julian 'The Bus' Savea's two World Cup tries against France lead the six nominations for the players' try of the year contest revealed Tuesday.

Savea's devastating World Cup try against France when three French players just bounced off his charging run must be one of the favourites.

An effort when Dan Carter provided a brilliant sleight of hand pass to set 25-year-old Savea free to get behind the French line is his second entry.

Savea needs only one try in Saturday's World Cup final against Australia to break the record of eight tries at a single World Cup he holds jointly with New Zealand's Jonah Lomu (1999) and South Africa's Bryan Habana (2007).

Habana could get the record in the third place playoff against Argentina on Friday.

Japan's World Cup hero Ayumu Goromaru is also in the International Rugby Players Association contest for his try in the landmark win over South Africa at the start of the World Cup.

Japan won the contest 34-32 in the biggest upset in World Cup history.

Fetu'u Vainikolo of Tonga, Justin Tipuric of Wales and France's Vincent Debaty account for the other three in non-World Cup action.

Vainikolo scored a brilliant individual effort against the United States in July.

Tipuric got his try against Ireland and Belgium-born prop Debaty against England in the Six Nations this year.

The try of the year will be decided at the World Rugby Awards in London on Sunday.

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.