Rugby: Australia's Hooper cited for dangerous play ahead of Wales Rugby World Cup clash

LONDON (AFP) - Star Australian flanker Michael Hooper could miss the Pool A decider with Wales on Saturday after being cited over an incident during the crushing 33-13 defeat of England.

The incident concerning the 23-year-old - who along with fellow back row forward David Pocock were outstanding against England - took place in the 39th minute when he flung himself into a ruck leading with his shoulder which resulted in just a ticking off by French referee Romain Poite and a penalty being awarded to England when it was deep inside their own 22.

However, the independent citing commissioner Steve Hinds decided further action should be taken.

"Michael Hooper has been cited for an alleged act of foul play contrary to Law 10.4(h) (charging into a ruck or maul without use of the arms or grasping the player) during the 39th minute of the Rugby World Cup 2015 Pool A match between England and Australia at Twickenham on Saturday, 3 October," read the statement form the organisers.

Hooper's hearing will take place on Tuesday morning in London and be heard by independent judicial officer Alan Hudson.

A similar incident in Ireland's 16-9 win over Italy on Sunday resulted in Poite's compatriot Jerome Garces sin-binning Irish flanker Peter O'Mahony.