Thongchai, Lahiri drive EurAsia Cup quest

KUALA LUMPUR • Captain Jeev Milkha Singh yesterday unveiled a line-up featuring Asian Tour No. 1 Anirban Lahiri of India and Thai star Thongchai Jaidee to shoulder Asia's hopes in next month's EurAsia Cup.

Also qualifying for the Asia team are India's S.S.P. Chowrasia, Japan's Shingo Katayama, Malaysia's Danny Chia, Kiradech Aphibarnrat of Thailand and Korean duo K.T. Kim and Byeong Hun An.

Jeev named Malaysian Nicholas Fung, China's Wu Ashun, Prayad Marksaeng of Thailand and Korean Jeung Hun Wang as his captain's picks for the second edition of the new Ryder Cup-style matchplay event.

"I believe we have assembled a very strong team capable of defeating Team Europe after the thrilling 10-10 draw in 2014. That will be our mission next month: to win the EurAsia Cup."

Asia will face a Europe team captained by Darren Clarke and featuring Ryder Cup veterans Lee Westwood and Ian Poulter, along with their fellow Englishman Danny Willet and France's Victor Dubuisson.

Europe and Asia will both be trying to win the EurAsia Cup for the first time after the draw last year in the inaugural edition at Glenmarie Golf and Country Club in Malaysia.

The venue will again play host.

The winning team will share prize money of US$3.6 million (S$5.1 million).

The runners-up will share US$1.2 million.

The European side also include Englishmen Ross Fisher, Chris Wood, Matthew Fitzpatrick and Andy Sullivan, Ireland's Shane Lowry, Bernd Wiesberger of Austria, Denmark's Soren Kjeldsen and Swede Kristoffer Broberg.


A version of this article appeared in the print edition of The Straits Times on December 16, 2015, with the headline 'Thongchai, Lahiri drive EurAsia Cup quest'. Print Edition | Subscribe