Golf: S'pore amateurs advance to Asian final of MercedesTrophy tournament in Australia

SINGAPORE - A clutch of Singaporeans have qualified for the Asian final of the MercedesTrophy golf tournament in Queensland, Australia in August.

The seven are Michaer Lee, Francis Chia (winner and runner-up of A Division), Michael Liew, Chum Tun Jang (B Division), Tan Horng Chiang, Thong Tuck Seng (C Division) and Doris Wong (Ladies Division winner) who triumphed on Friday (June 2) at the MercedesTrophy National Final Singapore held at the National Service Resort and Country Club.

A total of 84 amateur golfers participated at the annual event which was open only to Mercedes-Benz customers and partners. Changi Golf Club won the team event.

The next leg will be from Aug 8-12 in Queensland with the prestigious competition reaching its climax wit the MercedesTrophy World Final held in Stuttgart, Germany in October.

Lee said: "The level of precision and skill amongst players at the MercedesTrophy National Final Singapore never fails to amaze me.

"I thoroughly enjoyed competing with the nation's best amateur golfers and look forward to representing Singapore at the Asian Final."