Football: FAS announces national team squad to face Myanmar and Afghanistan

The average age of the latest Singapore national squad is 26.5.
The average age of the latest Singapore national squad is 26.5.PHOTO: THE NEW PAPER

The Football Association of Singapore (FAS) has announced the national team squad to play the international friendly against Myanmar on Thursday, March 24, at the Jalan Besar Stadium and the final Fifa World Cup 2018/AFC Asian Cup 2019 qualification match against Afghanistan on Tuesday, March 29, at the Takhti Stadium in Teheran.

There will be a total of 23 players in the squad, with Home United FC captain Juma'at Jantan receiving his first call up to the National Team since 2014. The average age of the squad is 26.5.

In addition, the Under-21 National Team will also be travelling to Teheran to play two international friendlies against their Iranian counterparts on March 26 and 28. Both matches are scheduled to kick off at 3.00pm (7.30pm Singapore time) at the Enghelab Stadium.

Some 20 players have been called up, including Adam Swandi, Joshua Bernard Pereira and Muhaimin Suhaimi from the Garena Young Lions, and Irfan and Ikhsan Fandi from Home United FC.

Tickets for the Singapore v Myanmar match are still available at and AXS Stations islandwide until 4.00pm on matchday. Ticket sales will resume thereafter from 4.30pm onwards on matchday at the Jalan Besar Stadium (North Gate), subject to availability. Fans who purchase their tickets by 11.59pm on Saturday 19 March will stand a chance to win a National Team jersey autographed by the entire team.

National team squad

1. Hassan Sunny

2. Izwan Mahbud

3. Zaiful Nizam

4. Baihakki Khaizan

5. Juma'at Jantan

6. Mohamad Shaiful

7. Mohammad Afiq

8. Muhammad Al-Qaasimy

9. Muhammad Hafiz

10. Muhammad Safuwan

11. Muhammad Shakir

12. Mohammad Firdaus

13. Hariss Harun

14. Muhammad Faris

15. Muhammad Izzdin Shafiq

16. Muhammad Yasir

17. Muhammad Zulfahmi

18 . Quak Jun Yi Gabriel

19 . Shahdan Sulaiman

20. Mohamad Sahil

21. Fazrul Nawaz

22. Shahril Ishak

23 . Khairul Nizam

Under-21 squad

1. Muhammad Zharfan

2 . Shahul Rayyan

3. Muhammad Amirul Adli

4. Dhukilan Jeevamani

5. Muhamad Rusyaidi

6. Muhammad Ariyan

7. Muhammad Shahrin

8. Taufiq Muqminin

9. Ammirul Emmran

10. Ikhsan Fandi Ahmad

11. Joshua Bernard Pereira

12. Low Jun Kit, Gareth

13. Muhammad Amir

14. Muhammad Hami Syahin

15. Muhammad Muhaimin

16 . Muhammad Muhelmy

17. Adam Swandi

18 . Irfan Fandi Ahmad

19. Muhammad Hazim Faiz

20. Muhammad Shameer Aziq