Football: Brunei's DPMM claim first S-League trophy, Tampines finish second after 1-1 draw

Brunei DPMM celebrate capturing their first S-League title.
Brunei DPMM celebrate capturing their first S-League title.PHOTO: GREAT EASTERN YEO'S S LEAGUE/FACEBOOK

SINGAPORE - Brunei's DPMM bagged their first S-League title with a 4-0 victory over Balestier Khalsa in Bandar Seri Begawan on Saturday night.

The result ensured that the Bruneian side finished top of the 10-team table with 52 points, just edging out Tampines Rovers (48 points) who were held 1-1 by Malaysia's Harimau Muda in a heated match played concurrently at the Jurong West Stadium.

DPMM are the second foreign club to claim the trophy after Singapore-based French outfit Etoile FC triumphed in 2010.

DPMM's coach Steve Kean praised his squad, saying: "It feels great. I'm so happy for the players and I give credit to all of them. They used the experience of last year's disappointment and looked so mature and calm in a game full of excitement and played with cool heads."

The team had finished second in 2014, losing the title to eventual champions Warriors FC in the final match of the season after being beaten 2-1 by Tampines.

Japanese outfit Albirex Niigata were third this time round after beating bottom side Hougang on Friday to move to 45 points.

Balestier, who remained on 44 points, finished fourth.

Harimau Muda ended seventh on 35 points, behind fifth-placed Warriors FC (37 points) and sixth-placed Home United (36).

Geylang International (28), Courts Young Lions (27) and Hougang (21) rounded off the bottom three.