Football: Bournemouth's Howe pips Mourinho to the LMA manager of the year award

LONDON (AFP) - Eddie Howe of Bournemouth and Chelsea's Jose Mourinho have been honoured at English football's League Managers Association (LMA) end-of-season awards ceremony.

Howe, who led Bournemouth to promotion from the Championship, was named Manager of the Year, while Mourinho was named Premier League Manager of the Year for steering Chelsea to a league and League Cup double.

Howe, who was also named Championship Manager of the Year, is the first manager from outside the English top flight to win the overall award since Steve Coppell, then of Reading, in 2006.

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.