Football: S'pore sweep inaugural AFF awards, with Lions, Shahril & Raddy leading the way

SINGAPORE made a near-clean sweep of the major inaugural AFF Awards during a ceremony in Pahang tonight.

The Lions were crowned the National Team of the Year (Men).

Shahril Ishak, who captained the team to a record fourth AFF Suzuki Cup at the end of last year and was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player, clinched the Player of the Year (Men) award.

Serb Raddy Avramovic, who stepped down following the biennial competition, bagged the Coach of the Year gong.

Two Singaporean match officials were also recognised for their efforts. Abdul Malik and Tang Yew Mun garnered the Referee of the Year (Men) and Assistant Referee of the Year (Men) accolades respectively.

In addition to the individual awards, Singapore and LionsXII skipper Shahril, midfielder Mustafic Fahrudin of S-League champions Tampines Rovers, and LionsXII defender Baihakki Khaizan were also named in the AFF's First XI.

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.