Football: English trio in Europa League get to play Russian Roulette

ENGLISH Premier League football clubs were handed daunting Europa League draws on Friday, with Tottenham, Wigan and Swansea all landing Russian opposition among their long trips to Eastern Europe.

Group A: Valencia (Esp), Swansea (Eng), Kuban Krasnodar (Rus), St Gallen (Sui).

Group B: PSV (Ned), Dinamo Zagreb (Cro), Chornomorets Odesa (Ukr), Ludogorets (Bul).

Group C: Standard Liège (Bel), Salzburg (Aut), Elfsborg (Swe), Esbjerg (Den).

Group D: Rubin (Rus), Wigan (Eng), Maribor (Slo), Zulte Waregem (Bel).

Group E: Fiorentina (Ita), Dnipro (Ukr), Paços Ferreira (Por), Pandurii (Rom).

Group F: Bordeaux (Fra), Apoel (Cyp), Frankfurt (Ger), Maccabi Tel-Aviv (Isr).

Group G: Dynamo Kiev (Ukr), Genk (Bel), Rapid Vienna (Aut), Thun (Sui).

Group H: Sevilla (Esp), Freiburg (Ger), Estoril (Por), Liberec (Cze).

Group I: Lyon (Fra), Betis (Esp), Guimarães (Por), Rijeka (Cro).

Group J: Lazio (Ita), Trabzonspor (Tur), Legia (Pol), Apollon (Cyp).

Group K: Tottenham (Eng), Anzhi Makhachkala (Rus), Sheriff (Mda), Tromsø (Nor).

Group L: AZ (Ned), Paok (Gre), Maccabi Haifa (Isr), Shakhter (Kaz).

Teams play each other home and away, with the first round of games to be played

on Sept 20.

Juventus Stadium will stage the final on May 14 next year, with Turin getting its first chance to host a one-legged final of a major European club competition.

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.