Football: Balestier, Warriors and Tampines in Group of Death for TNP League Cup

Defending champions Brunei DPMM have been handed a relatively easy draw as they look to retain the Singapore League Cup that they won last year.

Managed by former Blackburn Rovers manager Steve Kean, DPMM were drawn in Group A with Hougang United, Geylang International and Singapore Recreation Club (SRC) from the National Football League (NFL).

S-League football clubs Balestier Khalsa, Warriors FC and Tampines Rovers make up the "Group of Death" in Group B while Albirex Niigata, Home United and NFL's Sporting Westlake will be in Group C.

The top two teams from Group A and the top team from Groups B and C will qualify for the semi-finals.

The fixtures will be released at a later date.

In last year's competition, DPMM beat Tanjong Pagar 2-0 in the final.

This year's League Cup will also be known as The New Paper Cup after the tabloid was presented as the tournament's new title sponsors at the League Cup draw ceremony at the Singapore Press Holdings auditorium on Thursday afternoon.

Dominic Nathan, editor of The New Paper, welcomed the partnership.

He said: "We aim to bring our unique The New Paper flavour to the tournament, and working together with the Football Association of Singapore (FAS) and S-League.

"We are confident that we will give football fans good reason to go and catch The New Paper League Cup matches live at the stadiums."

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.