Cycling: Eight Singapore cyclists book their spots for SEA Games

THE Singapore Cycling Federation (SCF) has announced that eight national cyclists have confirmed their spots for June's SEA Games on home soil.

Dinah Chan, Serene Lee, Goh Choon Huat, Low Ji Wen, Vincent Ang, Teh Jing Long, Darren Low and Benedict Lee will represent the hosts in the cycling competition that will be conducted only in road race formats.

Chan, who clinched gold in the Women's 30km time trial at the 2013 edition in Myanmar, will compete in the Individual Time Trial, Road Race and Criterium. Lee will also be entering the same events, but will act as a reserve in the Individual Time Trial.

Goh, Low and Ang will be involved in the Road Race and Criterium events, while Darren, Lee and Teh are in the Individual Time Trial, Road Race and Criterium. Teh will serve as reserve for the Individual Time Trial.

The SCF's selection criteria is based on athletes who achieved at least a third placing at the 2013 Games, or are ranked third in South-east Asia in equivalent events over the last two years.

In the event that any of the eight athletes are unable to compete, the next best reserve athlete who has met the selection criteria would be activated as a replacement.

There are six cycling events at the upcoming Games: the Men's (approximately 40km) and Women's (approximately 30km) Individual Time Trial, the Men's (90 minutes) and and Women's (60 minutes) Criterium, and the Men's and Women's Mass Start Road Race.

Join ST's Telegram channel and get the latest breaking news delivered to you.